Maryland Transfer Advantage Program

The Maryland Transfer Advantage Program makes it easy to transfer from some of the state’s most popular community colleges and earn a bachelor’s degree at the University of Maryland.

The participating community colleges are:

  • Anne Arundel Community College
  • College of Southern Maryland
  • Montgomery College
  • Prince George’s Community College

This program is designed for community college students who intend to complete a bachelor’s degree at the University of Maryland. Students participate in the Maryland Transfer Advantage Program while completing a program at the community college.

Please note: To be eligible for MTAP, students must have graduated from high school and be enrolled at one of the four partner community colleges.

MTAP Benefits

  • Complete your program at one of four community colleges while planning to transfer to UMD
  • Prepare for successful completion of a bachelor’s degree at UMD while attending community college
  • Participate in transfer advising activities and opportunities to take UMD courses at a reduced tuition while enrolled at the community college
  • Benefit from guaranteed admission to UMD upon successful completion of the program and submission of a transfer application to the university


MTAP Completion Requirements

  • Complete 30 college credit hours or an associate’s degree or transfer studies certificate from a MTAP partner community college
  • Complete Fundamental Studies Academic Writing and Mathematics
  • Complete MTAP requirements with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 or a B average; all previous institutions attended and current community college transcripts will be considered to meet cumulative GPA requirements of MTAP
  • Work closely with your community college counselor in order to ensure you complete the above MTAP requirements and meet the program’s guidelines at your college
  • Apply to transfer to UMD by the priority application deadline


Taking a class at the University of Maryland through MTAP

Maryland Transfer Advantage Program students must be accepted into MTAP. Students are eligible to enroll in a course after completing at least 15 credit hours at their community college. In order to register for a course, the student has to complete and submit a Course Interest Survey for concurrent enrollment; all courses count toward a student’s overall academic performance once they transfer. Students that take advantage of the course enrollment option are able to do the following:

  • Explore courses at UMD that are currently not offered at their community college.
  • As a MTAP participant, receive a 25% course-tuition scholarship for one UMD course per term (not to exceed 9 total credits) offered at College Park or at The Universities at Shady Grove.

Please note: MTAP participants should register for courses using the CIS form, which should be submitted to the MTAP representatives.  MTAP students cannot register themselves for courses. Doing so will result in being dropped from classes, and possible financial penalties.

For more information check out our Maryland Transfer Advantage Program frequently asked questions.

Useful links for the Maryland Transfer Advantage student

The MTAP application for Spring 2015 has passed, and the application is no longer available. For all students who applied by the Nov. 15 deadline, you will receive your decision 4-6 weeks following the application deadline.


For students interested in completing an MTAP application for fall 2015 enrollment, the application will be available in mid-April and is due by June 1.

Your Admission Representative Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware District of Columbia District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Puerto Rico Virgin Islands International