Admission Requirements

We are so glad you are considering applying to the University of Maryland! To get started on the path of joining our world of fearless ideas, carefully review our requirements for admission.

Freshman Applicants >

High school students and students with fewer than 12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours of university-level credit beyond secondary school should apply as freshman applicants.

Transfer Applicants >

High school graduates who have completed at least 12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours at a regionally accredited college or university should apply as transfer applicants.

International Applicants >

Students who are not U.S. citizens or permanent U.S. residents and students with any non-U.S. academic records should apply as international applicants. All other students should follow the regular application instructions for freshman or transfer admission.

UMD at Shady Grove Applicants >

Students with approximately 60 transferable credits who are interested in earning a University of Maryland, College Park degree in biological sciences, business, communication or criminal justice at The Universities at Shady Grove should review information specific to the Shady Grove campus.

Special Audiences >

We understand no two applicants are the same and not every applicant fits neatly into the category of freshmen or transfer student. That is why we will consider your specific circumstances through an application process developed just for you.

Your Admission Representative Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware District of Columbia District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Puerto Rico Virgin Islands International